Taking a Break

I started publishing these brief articles back in April with the hope that it might be something from which folks could derive some benefit in their daily walk with Jesus. Your kind words and encouragement have not gone unnoticed or unappreciated. If God has used this medium to bless your life, then I give Him the glory.

But it’s time for Manna in the Morning to take a break. I’ll be brutally honest: writing is hard. Good writing is even harder. And trying to write something of substance and value five days a week adds to the difficulty. So after much thought and deliberation, I’ve decided to put Manna on hold indefinitely as I reassess the ways that I am currently using different forms of media.

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”

Galatians 6:9

18 thoughts on “Taking a Break

  1. Eddie,           We are on that long list of the Lord’s people that have been assisted by your writings on “Manna in the Morning.”  I plan to use your postings on the beatitudes as brief talks for the Wednesday night Bible Study closings.  When I do this, I will take great pleasure in letting it be known that you wrote the words that I read from the pulpit.           Judy and I will be going to visit our youngest son, Steven and his family this coming weekend (Lord willing).  Doug’s wife, Ginger, was with us for a short period yesterday.  It will ALWAYS be special that you consented to preach the wedding for Douglas & Ginger.  It is our desire to come to visit you at some point.  Lord willing, I pray that we can do just that.           Please try to remember the apostle Paul (1 Cor. 5) and use his example to lift your spirits when struggles and difficulties seem so great.  We love you immensely as our brother in Christ, Donald and Judy Camp

    Like

  2. Eddie, I have appreciated receiving Manna in the Morning each day when I turn on my computer to check e-mail. Among all the other messages, these would lift me up, instruct me, give me something to ponder for the day, etc. I have shared some of them with others. I have benefited from them and, truthfully, wondered how you managed to write them every day with all your other responsibilities! So, while I will miss them, I understand why you would want to put them on hold for now to reassess. Some time ago I was feeling overwhelmed and assessing my own priorities when I read Stephen Covey’s statement that went something like “the enemy of the best is the good.” And, of course, that principle was right there in Phil 1:10 all along!
    “And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in knowledge and all discernment,
    that you may approve the things that are excellent,” NKJV
    I especially benefited from the wording in the NIV:
    “And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight,
    so that you may be able to discern what is best,”
    My prayer for you! I appreciate you so much!

    Like

  3. Eddie, thank you so very much for the inspiration you have provided with your Manna In The Morning articles. They were a blessing for me, and I have saved them for future reference. May God continue to bless you and Mary as you work in His service.

    In Christian love,
    Frances Bobo

    Like

  4. I will certainly miss receiving new Manna, but have saved many of the past ones and will savor them … May God bless you and your family abundantly and through eternity! Blessings … Donna B.

    Like

  5. Dear Eddie,
    I certainly understand that you need a break since it is hard to come up with a lesson each day. I just wanted to let you know that I have appreciated each Manna since my friend, Donna, forwarded them to me a few months ago. I normally do not take the time to comment since I am at work as a secretary Monday through Friday. I have used them as my time to pray and start my day off with an uplifting spiritual message. Thanks so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

